Més Que un Club: FC Barcelona and Cultural Family Life

Even before I decided to study abroad in Barcelona, Spain, I had heard of the FB Barcelona soccer (or fútbol) club.  This sport, and this team in particular, are recognized icons of Spanish sports and cultural heritage.  I was excited to study abroad in city where there was such team spirit and passionate support for the athletic representatives of the city.  I was not disappointed!  Support for FCB is widespread and infectious.  I love seeing all the little kids in the city, all wearing a tiny Messi jersey and holding an FCB lunchbox or backpack.  Before arriving in this city however, I had no idea how integrated the soccer club was to the Catalan cultural identity.  In the wake of a recent loss to R. Madrid (horrible!) it becomes even more evident how important FCB is to the Catalan spirit.  The soccer club was the only permitted expression of Catalan culture during the Franco years, and remains today as a symbol of independentism and nationalism.  The rivalry matches against Madrid pit Catalunya against Spain and reflect the underlying political and social tensions of the regional autonomy.

I find the games to be extremely exciting; I love to see demonstrations of Catalan pride.  This support for an organization that is “Més Que un Club” is an interesting manifestation of regionalism and one of the aspects that makes studying abroad in Catalunya such a unique experience.  From my bedroom in my homestay in the Eixample, I can hear the action at Camp Nou during the games.  I love to look out my window and listen to the players beginning announced.  Even more so, I love to hear the songs and the chanting of the spectators during the game.  The roars from the crowd punctuate every game and every foul.

However, in my homestay, there is some conflict about FCB.  Carlos, my host father, is a huge soccer fan.  He watches every possible match.  Margarita, my host mother, does not like soccer at all.  Except for FC Barcelona, of course.  The tension comes from within; Carlos is not native to Barcelona.  He was born and raised in Málaga, and as such, supports the R. Madrid.  Margarita is a thorough Catalan and has lived in Barcelona all her life.  Despite her general disinterest in soccer, she consistently roots for FCB and is only content with victory for the club.  This division is a fun and interesting dynamic within my homestay.  It also represents the modern culture of Catalunya, which today is made of many, many immigrants, many of whom are from the South of Spain.  I am lucky to stay with this family because I have a glimpse of Catalan culture and the conflicting cultural view of the rest of the united Spain!

Me with my host parents, Carlos (a R. Madrid fan) and Margarita (an FCB fan!)

Leave a comment